Homeade Dishwashing Tablets

I drug my friend Bryan to the store to help get my husband’s birthday present. On the way home, I had to stop at Sam’s Club as I was almost out of laundry detergent and dishwasher tabs. As I was overpaying for these items, Bryan was talking about wanting to make them. As he was exploring Youtube.com for recipes, I introduced him to Pinterest. After some research, we finally picked a recipe. The recipe that we picked involved ingredients that I already had around the house. The only thing missing was washing soda. I was ready to quit, but Bryan insisted we look up how to make Washing Soda. He was right! I had baking soda and we were able to convert it into washing soda. Being a Chemistry teacher, I was pretty excited that I understood the chemical reaction process and can’t wait to share this with my students.

Here’s the site that explains the process. I’m not sure it’s really cheaper to buy baking soda when you consider the expense of running your oven, though.

http://naturesnurtureblog.com/2012/05/08/ttt-turn-baking-soda-into-washing-soda/#comment-731

This is the recipe I am going to use next time. It adds in the Epson salt; the grit helps get your dishes clean. Plus, I just purchased some essential oils, and this will be another way to utilize them!

http://makeitorfixit.com/how-to-make-homemade-dishwasher-detergent-cubes/

Ingredients

  • 2 cups of Borax
  • 2 cups of Baking Soda (or Washing Soap)
  • 2 packets of unsweetened lemonade (or Essential Oils)
  • 1/2 cup of Kosher Salt
  • 1/2 cup of vinegar
  • ice cube trays

If you make these, please comment and let me know how to work for you. Mine worked just as well as store bought and my glass was sparkling. Plus, store bought is over $20, and these ingredients are less than 10 and will produce at least 5 times as much as store bought. I did a sample run this time. Next time, I will try to make the whole amount and post a picture so you can see the amount you can make for much less money.

Leave a Reply

