Making Laundry Detergent

After yesterday’s success with homeade dishwashing tablets, I decided to make my own laundry detergent today!

It takes less than ten minutes. Heat up the soap for about 20 seconds in the microwave first and it will grate better.

All that we had to buy was a bar of soap. We already had all of the other ingredients from yesterday. We used lemon essential oils to make our clothes smell lemony fresh. I used a little extra vinegar as it was still pretty dry after only using a 1/2 cup.

The recipe I used yields 45 tabs. I still have more of everything (except for a $1.00 bar of soap) so that I can make more dishwasher tabs and more of this laundry detergent.

Here is the recipe we used.

http://www.onehundreddollarsamonth.com/diy-homemade-laundry-detergent-tabs/

1 cup Borax
1 cup washing soda
1 cup grated bar soap {I used Fels Naptha, but you could also use Zote, Ivory, etc.}
1/2 cup vinegar
15-20 drops essential oil {optional}
Ice cube tray

Please comment and let me know if you make this! I want to hear how it works for you. I just pulled my first load of laundry out of the washer and it smells great!

Leave a Reply

